Our People
PDF Print E-mail

Improving quality of life or finding a cure for PCD will not happen without individuals who are dedicated to the fight. Join us!

Board of Directors


Michele Manion
President, Executive Director, Founder
Carey Kauffman
Vice President
Lynn Ehrne
Amy Kovler


Medical and Scientific Advisory Board

Michael R. Knowles, MD
Cystic Fibrosis/Pulmonary Research & Treatment Center
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Thomas Ferkol, MD
Director, Pediatric Cystic Fibrosis Clinic
Washington University, St. Louis

Scott Sagel, MD
Pediatric Pulmonology Department
The Children’s Hospital Denver

John Carson, PhD
Department of Pediatrics
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Heymut Omran, MD
Center for Children & Youth Medicine
University of Freiburg, Germany

Maimoona Zariwala, PhD
UNC Department of Pathology & Laboratory Med
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Joseph Sisson, MD
Section of Pulmonary & Critical Care Med
University of Nebraska Medical Center
Margaret Leigh, MD
Director, Cystic Fibrosis Care Center
University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Margaret Rosenfeld, MD
Cystic Fibrosis Clinical Center
University of Washington, Seattle

Sharon Dell, MD
Director, Respirology Department
Hospital for Sick Kids, Ontario, Canada

George Witman, PhD
UMass Medical School, Biomed Division
Cell Dynamics Group

Larry Ostrowski, PhD
Cell & Developmental Biology
UNC College of Medicine, Chapel Hill

Carlos Milla, MD
Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital
Stanford University School of Medicine

Jeff Atkinson, MD
Washington University School of Med
Pulm & Critical Care Medicine

PCDF Committees

The PCDF has three standing committees to handle the day-to-day management of PCDF Programs (Research, Education and Advocacy & Support). We also have two ad hoc Research Committee and regional Patient Liaisons who provide personal patient outreach.

Committees developing program initiatives at board direction, making recommendations to the board and reporting progress. Board membership is not required for committee participation. If you are interested in participating in a committee, please contact us.


Areas of Focus


  • Compliance
  • Governance
  • Elections
  • Michele Manion, Committee Chair
  • John Carson, PhD
  • Lynn Ehrne
  • Carey Kauffman
  • Todd Truax, CPA/CMA
  • Growth
  • Fundraising
  • Future direction
  • Carey Kauffman, Committee Chair
  • Lori Ondos, National Fundraising Chair
  • Michele Manion
  • Events
  • Communication
  • Website
  • Newsletter
  • Lynn Ehrne, Committee Chair
  • John Carson, PhD
  • Michele Manion
(ad hoc)
  • Research Priorities
  • Research Summaries
  • Grantmaking
  • For more information, please contact John Carson, PhD